King Crimson- Live In Washington & Albany 2021 - 200gm Vinyl (PREORDER)

Format: New Vinyl/Rock

Release Date: 11.3.23

Sale price$77.99

UPC: 633367795618

Limited edition 3LP 200gm set. Taken from King Crimson's final US concert in Washington, DC, September 2021. Four additional tracks taken from the first concert of the second leg of that US tour in Albany, New York, in August 2021. Cut by Jason Mitchell at Loud Mastering. It is now being made available as a limited edition 3LP set, re-sequenced from the CD running order to maintain the complete release, including the four pieces from the first concert of the tour's second leg in Albany. Taken together, these tracks represent both a beginning and an end of a tour that took place despite almost insurmountable issues. Originally scheduled for 2020, postponed for a full year because of the pandemic, the tour began in July 2021 in Florida as the latest Covid wave hit and the band moved across the country in a tour bus bubble. Following a two-week break due to scheduling conflicts, the band took to the road again, with the Zappa Band appearing nightly before Crimson. Now facing gigs that had to be moved due to extreme weather, with one venue flooded a day before a concert, an open-air venue in New York transferred to the more familiar Beacon Theatre, and even a band member flown to hospital via helicopter, King Crimson faced a range of challenging conditions. Happily, the band member fully recovered and no gigs were missed despite the array of setbacks and obstacles. By the time King Crimson reached Washington, the band was in ferocious form with a powerful, energetic set with some arrangements reworked and differing from previous tours. Featuring a restored middle section of 'Larks' Tongues In Aspic Part One' that had not been played since 1973, substantial keyboard arrangements, Tony Levin on upright bass during 'Neurotica' giving the piece an extra swing, an emotional Starless and an immensely powerful '21st Century Schizoid Man' as an encore. King Crimson completed their tour in style and to much acclaim from fans and critics alike. As Robert Fripp notes in his diary entry included in the notes: "David (Singleton, KC manager/producer), pointed out that the very first piece KC played in the US, at Godard College, Montpelier, Vermont on October 29th. 1969, was the same piece as completed KC's 52 years - 21CSM". The four performances from the 'Friends and Family' concert in late August 2021 at The Egg in Albany, the opening show of the second leg of the tour and the same venue where the current band played it's first US gig in 2014, add material not played in Washington due to time constraints. David Singleton, who also prepared all the audio for this release, thought it one of the best sets the band played on this or previous tours.

Track List

  1. Introductory Soundscape
  2. Hell Hounds of Krim
  3. Larks' Tongues in Aspic Part One
  4. Pictures of a City
  5. The Court of the Crimson King
  6. Red
  7. Tony Cadenza Deals It Slitheryacious-To-The-Max
  8. Neurotica
  9. One More Red Nightmare
  10. Indiscipline
  11. Larks' Tongues in Aspic Part Two
  12. Epitaph
  13. Radical Action II
  14. Level Five
  15. Tony Cadenza Serves It Piping Hot
  16. Discipline
  17. Starless
  18. Islands
  19. 21st Century Schizoid Man

> Due to the current limited nature of music titles and production issues, ALL CD & Vinyl purchases are limited to one copy per customer, per item. If you place multiple orders for the same title, your subsequent orders will be cancelled.

How We Ship

We take great pride in our packaging and have spent years honing it so that it is not only 100% recyclable materials, but also protects your records from the woes of being tossed from truck to truck during the shipping process.